Type of entity
Authorized form of name
Parallel form(s) of name
Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules
Other form(s) of name
Identifiers for corporate bodies
Dates of existence
“On August 8th, 1949, Alderman W.G. Davies gave notice of motion that he, at the next regular meeting of the City Council on August 15th, 1949, would move that a committee of three members of council be appointed to investigate, with the assistance of interested organizations, the possibility, desirability and feasibility of establishing a museum for Indian relics and historical mementoes in the City of Moose Jaw and also to report on the possibility of marking historical landmarks in the Moose Jaw district.”
The first committee of Council consisted of Aldermen W.G. Davies, L.H. Lewry and J.R. English. By February 1950 the committee was expanded to ten interested individuals. The first officers of the expanded committee were Thomas Warner - Chair, Mrs. Thomas M. Sutherland - Vice Chair and Dr. Fred B. Cooper - Secretary.
A grant of $1000 was promised by the provincial government. The museum was located in space allotted by the school board in the north-west corner of the basement of the annex of Alexandra School. There was also a promise of showcases and artifacts from the Provincial Museum in Regina which continued to provide advisory support for many years. The official opening was arranged for August 23, 1950.
Through the late 1950's and early 1960's the museum was under constant threat because the school board wanted to use the space. The Museum Committee finally relinquished the space ca. 1965 and explored various spaces including the 4th floor of City Hall. Later that year, discussions began on a Museum/Art Building.