Fonds - Coteau Books fonds

Zone du titre et de la mention de responsabilité

Titre propre

Coteau Books fonds

Dénomination générale des documents

Titre parallèle

Compléments du titre

Mentions de responsabilité du titre

Notes du titre

Niveau de description



Zone de l'édition

Mention d'édition

Mentions de responsabilité relatives à l'édition

Zone des précisions relatives à la catégorie de documents

Mention d'échelle (cartographique)

Mention de projection (cartographique)

Mention des coordonnées (cartographiques)

Mention d'échelle (architecturale)

Juridiction responsable et dénomination (philatélique)

Zone des dates de production


  • 1975-1989 (Production)

Zone de description matérielle

Description matérielle

8.16 m of textual records
33 photographs

Zone de la collection

Titre propre de la collection

Titres parallèles de la collection

Compléments du titre de la collection

Mention de responsabilité relative à la collection

Numérotation à l'intérieur de la collection

Note sur la collection

Zone de la description archivistique

Nom du producteur

Histoire administrative

Dates: Coteau Books was established in 1975 and continues to publish to this day. Mandate: Coteau Books was set up as part of a non-profit publishing co-operative whose key goal was to publish prairie and Canadian writing - poetry, fiction, plays and children's books. Administrative relationships: Coteau was initially established as the book division of the Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative. This co-operative also produced albums under the division Caragana Records. As Coteau grew and established itself, it became the dominant representation of the co-operative. Administrative structure: Originally based in Moose Jaw, Coteau's four original board members, Barbara Sapergia, Geoffrey Ursell, Robert Currie, and Gary Hyland, were responsible for editing and production, with the assistance of one person hired to handle orders. By 1983 Coteau had established a branch office in Regina with a managing editor and two additional employees. The four original board members were eventually joined by seven others in 1978 and 1983. In 1988, Gary Hyland quit the Co-operative to concentrate on his own writing. The Board of Directors still contains three of the original members of the Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative: Sapergia, Ursell, and Currie.

Historique de la conservation

Portée et contenu

Fonds consists of six series: Coteau Books; Other Publishers; Professional Organizations; Government, Business and Industry; Caragana Records; and Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative. The records reflect the growth of Coteau Books from an arm of a small co-operative run by its members to an established publisher with three employees. Of special note is the large quantity of manuscripts in various stages of production.

Zone des notes

État de conservation

Source immédiate d'acquisition


Series titles follow the University Filing System. Efforts were made to maintain the original filing system utilized by Coteau Books.

Langue des documents

Écriture des documents

Localisation des originaux

Disponibilité d'autres formats

Restrictions d'accès

Permission of a representative of Coteau Books is needed before a file may be accessed.

Délais d'utilisation, de reproduction et de publication

Copyright remains with respective authors.

Instruments de recherche

Inventory for 89-64 is available.

Éléments associés

Éléments associés


Note générale

Includes oversize.

Identifiant(s) alternatif(s)

Zone du numéro normalisé

Numéro normalisé


Mots-clés - Sujets

Mots-clés - Lieux

Mots-clés - Noms

Mots-clés - Genre

Zone du contrôle

Zone des entrées

Sujets associés

Personnes et organismes associés

Lieux associés

Genres associés