Anglican Church of Canada. Diocese of Saskatchewan

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Anglican Church of Canada. Diocese of Saskatchewan

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1873 -


The Diocese of Saskatchewan was created in 1873, from territory previously ministered to by the Diocese of Rupert's Land, by an act of the Synod of the Diocese of Rupert's Land with the approval of the Anglican Church Missionary Society (CMS). The new Diocese was incorporated by Act of Parliament in 1882 ("An Act to Incorporate the Synod of the Diocese of Saskatchewan"). The original Diocese of Saskatchewan included most of the south and north-central areas of the present day civil provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta, and a small part of northern Manitoba. In 1884 the Diocese of Assiniboine (later Qu'Appelle) was created in the southeast. At the same time the Diocese acquired more territory in what are now northern Saskatchewan and Alberta, and a larger portion of Manitoba, including The Pas and Devon Mission area. In 1888 the Diocese of Calgary was created from its southwestern flank. Saskatchewan gave up the last of its Alberta and Manitoba territory in 1927 and 1933 respectively. Also in 1933 the Diocese was split again into a northern part, based in Prince Albert, and a southern part, based in Saskatoon. The original Act of Incorporation was amended to replace the name "Saskatchewan" with "Saskatoon," making it the continuing diocese and Saskatchewan the daughter diocese. The new Act of Incorporation was assented to March 27, 1933. The Diocese is responsible for ministering to the spiritual and (often) physical needs of its constituents in accordance with Anglican practices and Canon Law and including associated financial, legal and administrative functions. It is part of the ecclesiastical Province of Rupert's Land and in turn a member of the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada. The Diocese is an autonomous, self-governing body with in its own jurisdiction, and has had the right to elect its own Bishop since 1970. Authority is held by the Diocesan Synod, which is made up of elected and appointed delegates from across the Diocese, and by the Executive Committee. The Bishop of Saskatchewan is the chief administrative and pastoral officer.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC